The Paper Bag Princess, by Robert Munsch

Guest review by Megan F.

Upon learning that I would be working with young kids over the summer, the first thought that crossed my mind was “I ought to read them The Paper Bag Princess.” I remember loving it as a child and even after having read it now it is a book I find I still thoroughly enjoy.

The Paper Bag Princess is the story of Elizabeth, a young princess who is engaged to a young prince. Before the wedding a dragon destroyed the whole castle and took the prince forcing Elizabeth to spring into action and leading to a not so expected happy ending.

This book always makes me happy as it has a great message for kids about how it isn’t always the prince saving the princess and that people aren’t always as they appear to be on the outside. This story always brings a smile to my face and I feel it will do the same for anyone who reads it.

Leave a Reply

